Our History

Universities Australia was established on 22 May 2007 as the peak body for the university sector.

It is the successor to the Australian Vice-Chancellors’ Committee — founded in May 1920.

Vice-Chancellors from Australia’s then six universities in Sydney founded the committee to advance higher education through cooperative and coordinated action.

The committee changed its name to Universities Australia following a 2006 review which recommended restructuring the organisation into a peak industry body with a broader representative role for the sector.

WATCH: Universities Australia — Keeping it Clever Since 1920